Let’s avoid that wish

Listen to this while reading (Instrumental)

2067 will come eventually, you’ll be alive to see it most likely.

Brad Pitt will be dead. Denzel will be dead. Eminem. Everyone of your role models. Gone.

And you will be like most people. Looking back. Regretting. Asking yourself what you could’ve done differently or thinking, “what if”.

What if I had turned my ideas into reality? I had so many great ideas.

What if I had loved a little harder and held onto that relationship. She was so amazing.

Regrets, I think, are the biggest reason for our unhappiness as we get older.

46174

The regret of arguing and stressing your mom out too much when you were young. Now she’s gone and you’ll just wish you heard her voice one more time, but you won’t.

The regret of not playing with your dog while he was young and alive. Now he’s old and lazy and you’ll just wish he ran up to you with his toy one more time, but he won’t.

And finally the biggest regret, throwing your life away.

Throwing away the greatest gift you’ve ever gotten.

Because you always thought you had so much time. Until you ran out of it. 

I’m not saying become the next Zuckerberg or Musk. 

I’m not saying make millions and become popular.

I’m saying that when you look back at your life, don’t regret anything.

Laugh. Dance. Travel. Explore. Love.

Just don’t waste your gift.

1-rueeOGqR1dK0uin4WSHUbA.jpeg

 

 

 

28 thoughts on “Let’s avoid that wish

  1. Very good blog. I do have some regrets. I am asking God to help me let go of the loved ones I have who want nothing to do with me- I wish I said and done different things and I struggle with guilt. God is helping me and the DBT Distress Tolerance Skills I share with people are very helpful.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes they are my kids. My girls are in their late thirties and my son is in his late twenties. Great news! I got s FB message from my son who was not speaking to me- he told me he loved me! My heart is soaring! God answers my prayers when I stop and pray and let HIM handle the situation.

        Like

  2. mzukowskiblog- please, please, please stop leaving spamming comments on Blood Into Ink. It is a safe space for trauma survivors. If you like the writing, please leave meaningful comments. It would make the writers more likely to check out your blog.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. If you would really like to engage about this I am happy to discuss it off-line. In fact I reached out via your contact form the first time you left comment on the Blood Into Ink. The culture at WordPress is not a writing workshop (there are sites that are more like that) and asking for quid pro quo after reading and commenting on a post is considered bad etiquette here. People put their hearts and their souls on the screen and very few community members would ever presume to leave a critique on someone’s writing here.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Every comment I’ve left on any post I’ve ever commented on has been a quick thought not a critique. Afterwards, I want to share my writing because that’s necessary if you want your writing to become noticed (it won’t do that on it’s own). But since it’s such a big deal to you, I won’t comment on your site anymore. Thanks for bringing it to my attention.

        Like

      3. Its not my site. It is a collective safe space for sharing stories about trauma survival. Many of the writers are rape, sexual abuse and domestic violence survivors sharing deeply personal stories. Comments like “keep it up” and “this pleasantly surprised me” can be perceived as insensitive. Particularly when followed by a request to read a self-help post about how you are making yourself unhappy. I am sure that you are not trying to be insensitive but it is a little jarring.

        Like

  3. YES, THS!! I don’t want to look back and wish I had pursued my dreams and callings. I want to do it now and build a foundation!! Great post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love this post. One of my favorite quotes of all time is from Mark Twain, who said:
    “Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did so. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.”
    I totally agree and try to fulfill my dreams. I have few regrets and hope to keep it that way. Here is a piece of advice I received when I was only 14. I regretted something and was feeling so guilty and my best friend said “You can’t change what you’ve done. You can make sure you never do it again.” And I moved on from there. Never make the same mistake.
    Thanks for the post. Have a wonderful day!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Great quote by Mark Twain! Thanks for sharing it, I’ll be sure to write it down 🙂 Also, that advice is amazing and I definitely need it right now as I’m going through a tough time. I will definitely not make the same mistake again. Thanks so much for reading and taking the time to comment!

      Like

Leave a comment